Moving to a pump

Home Forums Living with type one Moving to a pump

Viewing 30 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

I’m about to move onto a pump, the wifes ok with it now I’ve just got to choose one!

As an electronics engineer I despise the throwaway nature of the omnipod, I also doubt the stickyness of it and I don’t like the idea of an automated needle insertion. I do however like the remote.

The animas 2020, well I like the look of the pump but I’m hoping the new ping will be available for the remote, but I’m suspicious of one touch test strips (paranoia is a perfectly healthy symptom of diabetes, right?)

My favorite option is the accu-check combo, I’ve used their products for 16 years & may have become a fanboi, but that pumps old & I have heard complaints about it. Basically if it looks old now, how’s it going to look in 4 years time!

And then there’s all the accessories like infusion sets, should the availability of a particular set influence my choice? Will a pump function ok with insulin in the sun on holiday?

Basically, can you old hands at this give me some sagely helpful advice as to what things should be influencing me and what’s good?

At the moment & given the current financial climate I can’t see CGM being an option in the next few years.

Ps. Great community site & thanks for any help

Alison
      Keymaster

Hi @furrypaul

I’m guessing you’ve already read ShootUp’s overview of the market http://www.shootuporputup.co.uk/2011/01/picking-a-pump-in-2011/ and have come away none the wiser! My general view is that everything on the market at the moment does the job, like buying a car, its just down to whether electric windows or a fabulous stereo are more important to you. The only pump I’d exclude from that is the Omnipod, which plenty of people love, but I’ve read about too many pod failures and poor service to have confidence in them at the moment.