Hello & questions about CGMS

Home Forums Hello & questions about CGMS

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Alison
      Keymaster

An intro from @John and some questions about CGM too. John, I’ve moved this to the Forums as more people will see this there – Alison.

Hello Alison and Everybody Else,

I’m new to this and might be putting this in the wrong place. I’ll wait and see if somebody puts me right, and go to business.

I started pumping in 2000 and the 3rd ( I think ) pump, a Paradigm 715, came up for replacement in November 2010. The recommended new one is the Paradigm Veo, allowed rather than recommended by the hospital, paid for by NHS/PCT. On eventual delivery, hideous rumour confirmed – no CGM, when sort of implied by adverts that it would be included. Don’t know why not:
      a) Medtronic didn’t mean it would be
      b) Hospital didn’t ask for it
      c) NHS/PCT wouldn’t pay for it
      and I ( think I) want one. There seems to be an important part missing, with the Veo and no CGM. A bit like getting a new car with a blacked out windscreen.
      BUT, sensible advice from Blog, good idea to find out what you are moaning about and what the thing can do (and if you Really do want one ) before stirring up the mud trying to get one.
      So, here’s the first question ( or nest of questions ) for all you kind people who have battled through my ramblings:
      If you have got a CGM: are you pleased with it ?
      how easy/difficult is it to use ?
      would you be parted from it ?
      what does it actually usefully do ?
      would you recommend it to someone who hasn’t got one but has got a Veo (eg Me ) ?
      And, if you haven’t got one: why not ?
      and would you like one ?

I have read some bits on the Blog which seem to be very favourable and it will be very helpful and interesting if any one will kindly put down something like one word answers to help me summarise what customers think.