My personal Blood Glucose Meter design

Home Forums Living with type one My personal Blood Glucose Meter design

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

Hello Everyone,

I am an Industrial Design Student living in Cincinnati, Ohio. In my never ending search for a job, I have spent the past couple months designing a new glucometer from scratch- hopefully aiding me to get a job. Being a type 1 diabetic since 2004, I know the difficulties associated with being a diabetic and having to carry all sorts of diabetic devices and supplies with you all the time- which was the main inspiration for this project.

This is my first post to this site, and I am looking forward to hearing some comments or criticisms about the project. I have finished the design and the documentation explaining the process. The goal of this project was to design a blood glucose meter that would be convenient to type 1 diabetics who live an active lifestyle. Since the large majority of diabetics (at least in the US approx. 90%) are type 2, many of the meters on the market tend to have features for an older population diabetics with type 2 diabetes.

I know there are all sorts of miniature meters available, and I personally have looked into getting one. But the major drawback was the fact that I’d have to carry the meter and all of its supplies in a separate case. Which is less convenient for me than having to carry the bulky all-in-one Accu-check compact meter that I use now.

Anyway I’m curious to see what others think, here’s one picture of the final design:

http://oi40.tinypic.com/deuq34.jpg

Also take a look at the full write up on my coroflot page here:

http://www.coroflot.com/dbrown9141/Glucometer-Design

(please note that the info is based on the US market, and the statistics are from the American Diabetes Association)

Tim
      Keymaster

@rocco336 – Hi David, welcome to Shoot Up!